Do you need a fishing license in NY for salt water?

Do you need a fishing license in NY for salt water?

All anglers 16yrs and older are required to register for saltwater fishing or purchase a license for freshwater fishing in New York State. You need to register before saltwater fishing. It’s easy and it’s FREE for NYS residents and all visitors.

Do you need a saltwater fishing license on Long Island?

Do I need a license to fish on Long Island? In New York State there are different regulations for fishing in freshwater and in saltwater. Those fishing in freshwaters, such as lakes or rivers, do need to obtain a license before doing so, but those heading out to the ocean or the Long Island Sound only need to register.

Do senior citizens need a fishing license in NY?

Seniors (70+) Persons with Disability. Native American members of select tribes….Seniors (70+)

Qualification What You Can Get
Senior citizens 70 years and older who are New York State residents $5 each fishing, hunting and trapping licenses
Free bowhunting & muzzeloading privileges ($5 base hunting license is required)

What size bass can you keep in NY?

Minimum Qualifying Sizes for Fish

Species Minimum Length
Bass, Largemouth 20 inches
Bass, Smallmouth 18 inches
Bass, Striped (inland) (Hudson River, Delaware River) 36 inches
Bluegill 10 inches

Can you fish for bass out of season in NY?

Anglers are reminded that fishing for black bass (including catch and release) is prohibited outside of the open season in Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Hamilton, and Franklin counties. In these counties, black bass open season is June 20 – Nov. 30.

Do you have to use circle hooks in NY?

The recreational striped bass fishing season will open on April 15 in New York State marine coastal waters south of the George Washington Bridge. DEC continues to work collaboratively with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) to require the use of circle hooks when fishing for striped bass with bait.

Can you catch and release bass out of season in NY?

A catch-and-release season exists for most of the state from Dec. 1, through the Friday preceding the third Saturday in June. There are variations in minimum length and daily limits for some waters. Anglers should check the current fishing regulations guide before heading out to fish.

Is it legal to use bluegill as bait in New York?

You NY State laws Fish taken may be used only for bait in hook-and-line fishing. These are the only circumstances where the use of seines, traps, cast nets, and gill nets are permitted unless a commercial license has been obtained. Possession of endangered or threatened fish species is prohibited.

Can you catch-and-release fish out of season?

According to the fishing guide: “A person may not fish for a species (even if immediately released) during the closed season for that species on a given water. Fish caught during the closed season must be unhooked and released immediately. They may not be handled for any other purpose, including taking a picture.”

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top