Uncategorized

Is there a penalty for hitting the flagstick while putting?

Is there a penalty for hitting the flagstick while putting?

There is normally no penalty if a ball in motion hits the flagstick. This Rule applies to a ball played from anywhere on the course, whether on or off the putting green.

What is tending the pin in golf?

What is Tending the Flag? In golf, tending the flag means that someone – either you, your caddie, or another golfer – stands next to the flagstick (the flag sticking out of the hole) and removes it after the person playing has made their putt.

Can you putt while holding the flagstick?

You can putt and hold the pin at the same time. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Make sure the ball does not strike the flagstick (Rule 17-1/5). If so, it is a loss of hole in match play of a two stroke penalty in stroke play.

What is the flag rule in golf?

If you hit the flag it’s 2 stroke penalty in stroke play or loss of hole if you are in match play. If you are off of the green there is no penalty if you hit the flag unless you ask someone to tend it and then they don’t pull it out.

Why are golfers leaving the pin in when putting?

The bodies decided on the alteration because they believe “allowing a player to putt with the flagstick in the hole without fear of penalty should generally help speed up play”. Before, if a player hit the flagstick with a putt, then they would have been hit with a penalty.

Can you stand behind your opponent while he is putting?

Rules of Golf explained: Our expert says… Sorry to be the bearer of bad news Hughie but, though it might feel wrong, there is nothing in the Rules to stop a fellow competitor, or opponent, standing wherever they like – even if that means they’re behind you tracking the exact line of your putt.

Can you take back a conceded putt?

When the concession is made, the ball is considered holed and the golfer whose putt was conceded is finished playing that hole. Once a stroke is conceded, the concession can’t be refused or withdrawn.

Is Side Saddle putting legal?

The side saddle putting is 100% legal for any golf tournament in the world.

Category: Uncategorized

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top