What is the correct order of reflex arc?

What is the correct order of reflex arc?

Stimulus, sensory neuron, intermediary neuron, motor neuron and defector organ is the correct order of general reflex arc.

What are the components of a reflex arc quizlet?

Terms in this set (5)

  • receptor. Sense organ in skin, muscle, or other organ.
  • sensory neuron. Carries impulses towards CNS.
  • interneuron. Carries impulses within CNS.
  • motor neuron. Carries impulse away from CNS.
  • effector. Structure by which animal responds (muscle, gland, etc.)

Which of the following best describes a reflex arc?

A reflex arc is a neural pathway that controls a reflex. In vertebrates, most sensory neurons do not pass directly into the brain, but synapse in the spinal cord. This allows for faster reflex actions to occur by activating spinal motor neurons without the delay of routing signals through the brain.

What are the components of reflex arc?

The reflex arc consists of 5 components:

  • sensory receptor.
  • sensory neuron.
  • integration center.
  • motor neuron.
  • effector target.

What is the somatic reflex arc?

The somatic reflex arc is the neural pathway resulting in involuntary actions, also known as reflexes. Interneurons integrate the signal (if there are multiple sensory inputs) and transmit the signal to the efferent motor neuron. In normal neural pathways, all input goes to the brain for processing.

What must occur first in a reflex arc?

The reflex arc is a special type of neural circuit that begins with a sensory neuron at a receptor (e.g., a pain receptor in the fingertip) and ends with a motor neuron at an effector (e.g., a skeletal muscle).

How does a reflex arc work step by step?

The reflex arc

  1. A receptor in the skin detects a stimulus (the change in temperature).
  2. Sensory neurones send electrical impulses to relay neurones, which are located in the spinal cord.
  3. Motor neurones send electrical impulses to an effector.
  4. The effector produces a response (muscle contracts to move hand away).

What are the four components of a Monosynaptic somatic reflex arc?

The simplest example of a spinal reflex is the monosynapic reflex arc, having four components:

  • A receptor (in this case, the muscle spindle).
  • An afferent component (sensory input).
  • A central component (spinal processing).
  • An efferent component (motor output).

What are the five components of a spinal reflex arc?

Reflex Arc Components. Most reflex arcs have five main components: receptors, sensory neurons, interneurons, motor neurons and muscles.

What are examples of reflexes?

A few examples of reflex action are:

  • When light acts as a stimulus, the pupil of the eye changes in size.
  • Sudden jerky withdrawal of hand or leg when pricked by a pin.
  • Coughing or sneezing, because of irritants in the nasal passages.
  • Knees jerk in response to a blow or someone stamping the leg.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top