When should you use CC?
CC someone in when you are sending a message to someone else but you’re allowing the people in the CC line to be kept in the loop and you are letting the person you emailed it to; known who else is up to speed. Use CC if you are doing a job on behalf of someone else so they can see the progress of the job.
What is the proper etiquette if you forgot to cc someone in an email?
Option 2 – Missed copying the colleague / team member, send the mail only to the colleague who has been missed and not inform rest in the distribution list. This no doubt is an option that is better than Option 1.
What happens when you cc someone?
The CC field allows you to send a copy of the email with any recipient of your choice. In most cases, the CC field is used to keep someone in the loop, or to share the same email with them. Unfortunately, this creates a literal copy of the same email in the recipient’s inbox.
Do CC get replies?
Basically, when you just click on the Reply button, then the one who will get the reply is only the sender. However, if you click on the Reply All button, then the ones inside the CC will as well receive the reply.
Can you reply if you are CC?
Typically, the “CC” (carbon copy) is to keep you in the loop of a conversation even if you’re not directly addressed in the message. Whether or not you reply should be determined case by case. If your participation is relevant to the conversation, then a “reply all” might be in order.
What happens when you reply to a CC email?
Cc stands for Carbon Copy. When you Cc a person on an email, the Cc list can be seen by other recipients on the chain. Hitting Reply All ensures the Cc’d person receives future emails that are part of this thread.
Why reply all is bad?
Never use “Reply all” to disagree with or correct someone. That is between you and the sender, not the others on the email. It’s a bit like pointing out that someone did something wrong in an in-person meeting. Doing so shames the other person in front of others.
Can someone see who you CC?
When you CC people on an email, the CC list is visible to all other recipients. BCC stands for “blind carbon copy.” Unlike with CC, no one but the sender can see the list of BCC recipients.
How do you blind cc a group?
Using the BCC Field
- Launch Outlook. From the Outlook ribbon, click the Home tab, then New Email.
- A new message window appears. From the Ribbon, click the Options tab, then BCC.
- In the BCC field, type the email addresses of your recipients.
- After you have finished your message, click Send.
Can you tell if someone is blind copied on email?
BCC simply sends the email to someone without their name being on the email at all. That’s what “blind” is all about: you can’t see that they’ve been sent the email. In fact, recipients of the email can’t tell whether anyone was BCC’ed or not. The information simply isn’t included in the email message.