Who was the Governor General of India from 1772 to 1785?

Who was the Governor General of India from 1772 to 1785?

Warren Hastings

Who was the first governor of India in 1773?

Who is the governor of East India Company?

Who was the governor general in 1784?

Warren Hastings founded the Calcutta Madrasa for the promotion of Islamic studies in 1781 and founded the Asiatic Society of Bengal with William Jones in 1784.

Who is the 1st Viceroy of India?

Charles John Canning

Who is the first and last Governor General of free India?

Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

Who was the last viceroy of India 2 points?

Lord Mountbatten was the last viceroy of the British Indian Empire and the first Governor-General of independent India.

Is Governor General and Viceroy same?

Under Government of India Act 1858, Governor General of India got replaced by Viceroy. Governor General is appointed by East India Company. Whereas, Viceroy is Direct representative of British Crown.

What is difference between Governor and Governor General?

The post of Governor-General of India and Viceroy was preceded by Governor of Bengal. When the East India Company came to India, it controlled Bengal through the post of Governor of Bengal….Difference between Viceroy and Governor-General.

Aspect Governor-General of India Viceroy of India
Duration of Post 1833-1858 1858-1948

Which was the first state to accept the subsidiary Alliance?

Nizam of Hyderabad

Which state did not accept the subsidiary Alliance?

Holkar state of Indore

Who ended subsidiary Alliance?

The doctrine of subsidiary alliance was introduced by Marquess (or Lord) Wellesley, British Governor-General of India from 1798 to 1805 . Under this doctrine, Indian rulers under British protection surrendered control of their foreign affairs to the British.

Which states accept subsidiary Alliance?

Order in which the Indian States entered into Subsidiary Alliances

  • Hyderabad (1798)
  • Mysore (1799 – After Tipu Sultan was defeated in the Fourth Anglo-Mysore War)
  • Tanjore (1799)
  • Awadh (1801)
  • Peshwa (Marathas) (1802)
  • Scindia (Marathas) (1803)
  • Gaekwad (Marathas) (1803)

Who introduced the doctrine of lapse?

Lord Dalhousie

Why was subsidiary Alliance introduced?

Why were Subsidiary Alliance made? Under the subsidiary alliance scheme, the ruler of the Allied Indian State was obliged to allow the permanent stationing within his territory of a British force and to pay a subsidy for its maintenance.

What is subsidiary Alliance and doctrine of lapse?

This arrangement was known as Subsidiary Alliance. Doctrine of Lapse- It was a policy of the British East India Company under which if the ruler of a princely state or territory under the paramountcy of the Company died without a natural heir, the state/territory would automatically be annexed to the British empire.

What is the major difference between subsidiary Alliance and doctrine of lapse?

1–Subsidiary alliance :– It is a way of dominant ruling. In this very phenomenon the Indian ruler have to accept some British army men in their Indian force and also they have to give money and maintenance. 2–Doctrine of lapse :– It is also a way of dominant ruling. This system was introduced by Lord Dalhouise.

What is doctrine of lapse in short?

The Doctrine of Lapse was an annexation policy extensively applied by East India Company in India until 1859. The doctrine stated that any princely state under the vassalage of the company will how its territory annexed should the ruler of the said state fail to produce an heir.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top